There’s a good chance that you’ve heard of chakras before, but you may not know what they are. The word “chakra” means “wheel” in Sanskrit and it’s a sacred focal practice in both Hinduism and Buddhism. It is also popular in yoga and various forms of meditation.

The chakra wheel is all about centering in on different energy points throughout the body. When one of them is low on energy, a chakra expert may recommend that you have a chakra cleansing.

If you’re curious about what the cleansing entails, please read on.

There Are Seven Types of Chakras

Before getting into how to cleanse and align chakras there are seven different kinds:

  • Root Chakra (Red): It’s where your spine is located and helps to keep you grounded
  • Sacral Chakra (Orange): It’s right below your belly button and is where your sexual and creative energies are stored
  • Solar Plexus Chakra (Yellow): It’s located in your stomach and is responsible for feelings of confidence and self-worth
  • Heart Chakra (Green): It’s in the center of your chest and cultivates feelings of love and compassion
  • Throat Chakra (Blue): It’s in your throat and is responsible for how you verbally communicate
  • Third Eye Chakra (Indigo): This chakra is in between your eyes and is responsible for your intuition
  • Crown Chakra (Violet): It’s at the top of your head and plays a role in what makes you a spiritual person

If one or more of these are imbalanced, you might feel drained, sad, indecisive, or even angry. It’s also important to know that if one chakra is blocked, it could affect other ones Check out this article to see what your root chakra and nervous system have in common.

The good news is there are things that you can do to remedy these emotions. You can experience a chakra cleansing.

What a Chakra Cleansing Consists Of

When you want to align your chakras, you need to cleanse them. There are three simple exercises that can help you do that:

  • Deep breathing: It brings in a new flow of energy
  • Meditation: It helps to de-stress and center you
  • Yoga poses: They will both stretch and strengthen your body

For each type of chakra, there are different yoga poses that are recommended. Each pose directly addresses each type of blockage.

There are other things that you can do to put your best chakras into peak form. You can also:

  • Speak positive affirmations to the chakra that needs cleansing
  • Eat foods in the color that corresponds to the chakra that you want to cleanse (it provides an energy boost)
  • Wear colors that connect to the chakra that you want to realign (it represents cleansing)
  • Place crystals over your chakras (they contain positive vibrations)

Doing these things can align your chakras so that you’re feeling better both physically and emotionally. For more information on chakra cleansing, contact a professional energy healer or certified yoga instructor.

Visit Our Site for Other Health and Lifestyle Information

Now that you know more about what chakra cleansing entails, you might want to make a cleansing appointment. In the meantime, our site is full of other information that might interest you.

Feel free to visit us at any time to see what other insights we have to offer.